Traveling As a Canadian Citizen

Below I will outline some basic information on Visa's needed to travel each country.  Make sure you do additional research if you are looking to work or stay in these countries for additional time.  You can also click on the country name which will bring you to their immigration website. 

I was able to find an awesome website that outlines all the Canadian visa information at a government website.  I recommend running through that website if you are Canadian and looking to travel to multiple countries. 

United States

A Visa is not required to enter the United States as a citizen of Canada.  Canadians are allowed to travel throughout the US for up to 180 consecutive days.  You are required to bring a Passport or a NEXUS Card. 

Dubrovnik - Croatia

Dubrovnik - Croatia

Schengen Countries 

The Schengen makes up many of the countries in Europe.  Click Here to see which countries are included in the Schengen.  Canadians are allowed to travel these countries for a total of 90 days within 180.  After the 180 days are up the Visa will reset.  Please note that just because a country is within the Schengen doesn't means it's part of the European Union.  These are two separate bodies and should not be confused during your travels.


Canadian visitors heading to Croatia must present a passport, which must be valid for at least three months beyond your expected departure date. A tourist visa is not required for stays under 90 days.


Canadian citizens are allowed to travel in Montenegro for up to 90 days without a Visa.  This is obtained from the border control.


A Visa must be granted before traveling to Australia.  Canadians must be in possession of an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA).  When arriving in Australia, ensure that you travel with the same passport used to apply for your ETA.  Tourist Visas will allow you to travel Australia for up to 3 months.

Stevi Stefan - Montenegro

Stevi Stefan - Montenegro

Giants Causeway - Northern Ireland

Giants Causeway - Northern Ireland

New Zealand 

A Canadian citizen can travel throughout New Zealand for up to 3 months without needing a Visa.  A visa is required if traveling for business or as a student.


Canadians are allowed to travel Ireland for up to 3 months without applying for a Visa.  If you wish to stay longer, they request that you apply for a residence card to show your intentions of being in the country.

Previous Page: US Citizens                                                                                                           Next Page: Australian Citizens